Fishing Forum

Full Version: New to fishing. Need tips on situation.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I'm new to fishing. My dad was an avid fisherman. I remember being with him and him catching 2-3 big fish each time.

I want to start fishing. I've been fishing about 6 times now. I've caught no real big fish. Just a few small 4-6inch bluegills.

Im using nightcrawlers as bait and Im fishing at a lake called Lake Cunningham in San jose CA. So far, I've never gotten a bite on my line. I go fishing from 3pm to 7pm.

And my fishing rig looks like this.
[Image: FishingRig.jpg]

But im planning on switching to the Night Crawler rig in this link http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=h...6%26sa%3DX
[signature]
Welcome aboard and thanks for your question here.

The worm rig will work well for the Catfish in your lake. Be sure to use at least a 1/2oz sliding sinker and maybe a 4lb leader.

Since the lake isn't very deep you should be mostly limited to Catfish during the summer and Trout during the winter. The Panfish will bite most of the year anyways but they will be better closer to the surface.[cool]
[signature]
and just another tip im not sure wat size hook ur using but I was just going to say that if u really want to catch some good cat's dont be affraid to add a nice size hook or layer the night crawler on it a bit. it wont keep u from catching them ,and it may discourage the blue gail from trying it Wink

if not, then use mackerel for bait. ive used mackerel, and never has it gone wrong Smile
[signature]
Idk what size hook it is. But its big enough im sure.

As for layering the worm. I don't know what that means.

What I do is I hook the worm from its head and bring the hook through out its whole body to the point where the worm is in the shape of the hook.

What is a 4lb leader? I use 12lb line for my leader.
[signature]