Fishing Forum

Full Version: spring turkey hunt!!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey hunters, just wondering if there are any BFTrs going turkey hunting this spring.
I have never done it before but always see them while deer hunting down on the Boulder mtn. I have a southern turkey tag and am wondering if anybody has ever hunted turkeys down there. I know they are their and I know wild turkeys are not stupid so....... I hope somebody has some tips or pointers for hunting them in utah.
no need to give up your spots just a general comment on what to do where to start you know. I have watched tons of turkey hunting on tv(not by choice but because its so popular back east and is always on the hunting channels that I watch) I just think that Utah turkey hunting might be a little different due to the different terrain.

any tips on calling, locating and general info for turkey hunting at any location in this state would be much appreciated.

Hope everyone has good luck this year and for myself, I will need all the luck in the world being a newbie to the sport this year.

PS anybody going to the banquette??
[cool]
[signature]
Be as still as possible, any little twitch will send them running. Go scouting before the hunt, they are in full Strutt right now so go look for them. Watch for tracks and sign and practice calling. For a beginner, I would reccomend a box call.
Also make sure to cover your whole body in camo, including your face, hands, and gun. These turkeys really have X-ray vision. It's a hard hunt on Public land, but really fun.
Good Luck[Wink]
[signature]
I drew, and this will be my 1st time too.

Good luck! [Smile]
[signature]