Fishing Forum

Full Version: New To Freshwater Fishing....
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey yall,
I am just getting into freashwater fishing and I was thinking on purchasing a new baitcasting reel and then obvioulsy a rod. I would like to spend less than a 100 bucks altogether. Should I get a combo or buy the rod and reel seperate?

thanks for the help
[signature]
If you want to try and stay in that price range, I would suggest going with a combo. Mainly because it usually seems that you can get slightly better quality stuff for just a bit less then buying them separately. With that said, I think its going to be hard to get the higher quality rods and reels for that price. And from my experience with bait casters its usually better to buy the higher quality products. For example; I bought a reel for like 50 bucks and less than a week later it fell apart on me. So I went and traded it in for a better quality reel and have never been happier. Sometimes you do luck out thought and get a really great product for a really great price. Hope this helps.
[signature]
Thanks for the advice. I do have another question, what is a well rounded type of fishing line? I was amazed at the selection..... help is greatly appreciated
[signature]