Fishing Forum

Full Version: what lbs line should i use?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hey i'm new here and have a question needed answering.

im using the pfluger trion gx-7 spinning rod/reel combo and the rod says up to 12lb line but the reel has 4,6 and 8lbs line. does this mean i can only use up to 8lbs? i'd like to bump it up to atleast 10 maybe 12 because i keep snapping the line casting spinner baits. i'm new to fishin and this is my first setup and i've lost atleast 10 spinner baits this year from my line snapping when i cast.
congradulations, you did your math right,

the biggest line you should use is the smallest that your equipment calls for, so if you need to go to bigger line you will need to find a reel that is classified for the bigger line.
[signature]
You can run a braided line as it's a smaller diameter that mono.
[signature]
why couldnt i just put less of the 10 or 12lb line on the reel?
[signature]
You will find out quick when you get a big fish on lol! [laugh]
[signature]
what will happen?
[signature]
I will save ya a dime,

Your reel will fall apart

It may not the first time you use it, but if you keep targeting fish that is greater than the class your real is designed for, you will vary quickly burn up the life of the reel.

kinda like puttin jet fuel in a ford tractor.
[signature]
i figured as much ha. well i got that medium action pole should i just get another reel that will do 12lb or should i get another pole too?
[signature]
there is nothing wrong with having several reels for the same pole, or several poles for the same reel.

I do both,
[signature]
i dont really have much funds for fishing right now, i was saving up for a catfish setup but i may put that on hold for a bigger bass setup so i can fish spinners. im having a heck of a time with them. i guess now the debate it.. spinner or baitcaster?
[signature]