Fishing Forum

Full Version: Surface Trolling on Strawberry
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am fairly new to fishing Strawberry. Last October I surface trolled with a flatfish (and white wooly buggers on the flyrod) and had an incredible day. This was my first time ever fishing there. I know there was probably no rhyme or reason to our method, it was just a good day for fishing.
I will be heading up on Friday and wondering if the fish are up near the surface enough to surface troll since I have no downrigger. Or if they are a little deeper, maybe 20 ft, can I add a weight to my line to troll?
Maybe I am way off and should try another method. Any suggestions and if so, locations to try?
[signature]
First off...Welcome!!

I am sure that many others will chime in here, but Vertical Jigging has worked well for a ton of people up there this year. I think the fish will be deeper and on the bottom unless you find a few in the fingers that happen to be shallow.

Good Luck, and Like I said...others that know more about this lake are bound to chip in with their .02$,

Shawn M
[signature]
With this storm and possible snow up there Friday, it could be really great or really bad. I would look deep myself as storms seem to have that effect.

Take a few minutes and try your trolling, if that doesn't work, try the jigging.

Strawberry has been really on and off this year I think, but I am sure you will get into some.
[signature]
Thanks for the Welcome. Yes, I need to learn the jigging technique. From what I have been reading it is deadly. Would the Alge bloom effect this, or is the bloom typically on the surface?
[signature]