Fishing Forum

Full Version: Show me your steelhead pre-tied leader method. Please.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Just wondering if there are any tips from you pros.

I normally spend 50% of my time tying up new rigs on the bank and I'm sick of it. I've heard people pre-tie them and save a lot of time. So what's your process? And how do you pack them without getting a tangled mess?

And I normally drift fish with tube weights and fly. No bobber.

Thanks!
[signature]
I am no expert but this is how I store the pre-tied rigs.
[signature]
If you are doing the whole rig with the corky/bead, and a hook and swivel the way steefan does it is effective. If you are only doing a hook/fly and a leader the Pips Box is definitely the way to go.
[signature]
I usually tie up the leader w/ the hooks and keep them in a pips box. I've also used the method shown by steelfisher but minus the corky and bead. I always add them later in case a slightly different arrangement is called for. I'll add the corky and/or bead when tying on.
[signature]
I tie 25 in each color of corky I carry and put them in sandwich baggies and them put the baggies into a quart ziplock. I pretie my weights as well.
[signature]
I'm a baggie in a baggie guy!

For side drifting I like a double hook set up, off-set 1 hook forward and 1 backward with a soft cheater or puff bal lin between - these are on #4 hooks with both tied with eggloops for use with a small roe offerings on the top hook!

[Image: IMG_0353.JPG]

it worked on this little guy and several others last Sunday!

[Image: IMG_0324.JPG]
[signature]
I found these baseball card pages when I was cleaning out some old junk and figured they would work for putting tied leaders in. I put 18 rigs in one page and they fold up nicely in my tackle box.
[signature]
Foam rolls like steelfishers on a leader roller in the boat and pips container when I'm bank fishing.
[signature]