Fishing Forum

Full Version: 2nd baitcaster set up?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have a 7'2 medium heavy rod with a daiwa exceler 6.3 baitcaster on it. I'm just wondering thoughts on what the next setup would be? I'm only into my second true year of bass fishing, I currently use that setup for everything, from real heavy swim baits to lighter stuff. any help or advice would be appreciated,
[signature]
I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but here's what I have:

1. Med-Heavy 7'6" rod for heavyer-ish stuff. Carolina rigs, cover, big spinnerbaits, etc. 30-lb Power-pro braid and usually a flourocarbon leader of some sort.

2. Med 6'6" rod for general purpose stuff. Jigs, cranks, soft jerkbaits, normal spinnerbaits, etc. 20-lb Power Pro. This is the one that I use the most.

3. Weird one. 8'6" medium salmon/steelhead rod that was on clearance somewhere Smile I can cast a mile with it, but it doesn't have the backbone of the Med-Heavy rod. I use it for chucking big spoons and spinners along with hard jerkbaits. Works pretty well for slip-sinker rigs for catfish. Also with 20-lb power pro.

My recommendation would be a shorter medium rod. Fast reel. If it's a pretty stiff rod, probably go with mono if you'll be tossing cranks. A lighter rod (both strength and weight) won't wear you out as fast as your current setup.

Matt
[signature]
Poles are like shoes, hiking running etc...

Pick your pole or poles and reels and line by how and what you fish with (lures) Cranks use a longer rod and softer rod that gets a good bind in it..
drop shotting use a spinning rod, jigs a stiffer rod and heaver line..
Most fish are lost from too stiff a rod, once a rod goes straight you get slack in the line..
But get good rods and reels or as good as your $$$$ will go..
And go to a store that the people know what they are talking about, if you fish for trout or bass ..
[signature]