Fishing Forum

Full Version: gulp minnows?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just got some gulp minnows tonight. I've never tried them before. I was just wondering what anyones opinion was on them. I'm stream fishing and wanted to ask what kind of riggup has worked the best for anyone? I usually try a 1/16 ounce jig head or even 1/8 with curlys if the water is deep or fast, or both. There's obviously no action in the tail like a curly. Would a carolina or a dropshot riggup work on a stream? I was thinking just work the minnow with no jig head. Just a little bb about 2' up to get it down. Differant from the drop shot. Than work the magic. I got the 2.5 silver an black smelt minnow. I haven't decided if I'm going to try the weeb or even the jordan.
[signature]
I don't know about stream fishing. But I had good success through the ice with them,I just wacky rigged them through the center.-Good luck let us know how they work.
[signature]
They do work well on a drop shot, but for stream fishing I would stick with the jig head. When you twitch it there is some action in the tail, just more subtle than a grub, which is sometimes what they want. It will have a faster drop rate which can trigger the fish. That rig is also good for smallmouth and walleye.
[signature]
Gulp minnows along with powerbait minnows are staples in my tackle box. On streams, I usually fish the 3" minnows on a 1/8 oz jighead, but I'll sometimes drop to 1/16 oz depending on the flow. If you're in a section that you know contains larger fish, switch to the 4" minnows on a 1/8 or 1/4 oz head and work it aggressively. I've also had good luck on streams with a dropshot-type rig using a splitshot about 1' below the hook.