Fishing Forum

Full Version: Strawberry Help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I asked a similar question to this about Flaming Gorge last week.. Now, I would love advice regarding Strawberry.

I am going to Strawberry on Thurs. 6/26. I will be staying in Aspen Grove since it is not as crowded, there is shade, and hopefully it is not as windy. I have a 16 ft aluminum boat..25 HP motor. Is the Soldier Creek side of Strawberry a good place to fish and will the waves get crazy there? I am going to be targeting Kokanee for the 1st time ever. I will try my best. My father-in-law will be with me and my step son. I don't want to look like a total newbie out there.

Thanks! [fishon]
[signature]
I just spent last weekend fishing the area that you are talking about and did very well. I fished the opening where the channel (narrows) meet soldier creek and I trolled right down the middle. I used a downrigger at about 35 feet and did pretty well. one thing i've learned about fishing strawberry/soldier creek is that it will be windy at some point every single day on the lake, some days it is worse than other and some days its not even boatable. on Sunday 6/22 we had calm water from morning until about 3:30 so that was a great day. Good luck and you shouldn't have too much trouble getting into some fish out there.
[signature]
I like the solider creek side cuz if the wind dose sneak up on you. You don't have to cross the main bay. I have went strait out from the marina below the road that goes to the damb and did well. I don't have down riggers so I go for what ever will take my bait I'm just happy to catch fish
[signature]
Thank you guys!

Very good info and extremely helpful. I will have my father-in-law and my 14 yr old step son with me. I am happy to just be out, but Junior gets pretty bored when he doesn't catch anything and goes batty from excitement when he does. Good times. Haha.