Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Basic fishing concepts.
Seems to me that generalizations rule.

Gotta have a spring bobber. Gotta have a short pole for ice fishing. Fly fishing is the best way to go. Bait fishing kills fish.

What ever happened to the basic principles of catching fish?

I am no expert on the subject, but I thought in order to catch a fish, first you need to know what type of fish you were going to catch. A basic understanding of the target species habits, and prefrences as it relates to food, cover, and structure will give you much more advantage than a spring bobber.

Next knowing where to find fish by understanding seasonal movments, locating structure that holds or funnels fish, and being able to work cover and edges effectivley as they relate to the specific needs of the target species and being able to locate thier food scource will give a guy much more advantage than a short rod.

And understanding the concepts of presentation such as bait choice, size, color, and the applied action given the specific species of fish, available food, cover, and structure and gaining skills in making presentations will net you more fish.

All the time we see generalization after generalization when in fact the art of becoming a skilled angler is in fact a very specific process.

Seems to me that the external elements of flasher versus LCD, short pole versus long rod, are the least important elements and last in line when it comes to actually catching fish.

I hate the generalization that bait fishing kills fish. Its simply not true. Its a poorly thought out generalization.

For example, a guy casting upstream and working a crawler along the bottom of the river, whos bait is always in constant contact with him, and he sets the hook as soon as he gets the bite will not harm a fish. The fish will not be able to take the worm any deeper than he would a fly. Hes gonna get hooked in the lip.