Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hellgrammites
Hello everyone,

I have a question. When I worked as a fishing instructor for a camp two years ago, I was told by another fisherman to "teach about hellgrammites." I had no idea what they were at the time, and I still don't know what they are. All I know is that they are dobsonfly larvae and they are good fishing bait.

My question is, what is a hellgrammite? Do they exist in southwestern Idaho? What do they look like?

I would really like to try fishing with hellgrammites someday if the regulations allow it.

Any help will be appreciated,

Jared
[signature]
I spent a lot of time in the eastern US where there were big numbers of hellgrammites in many of the streams and rivers. They were excellent bait for trout and smallmout bass. I have never seen a hellgrammite in Idaho or Montana and I turn over a lot of rocks.
[signature]
Hello,

Thanks for that info, that is very interesting. I was asking because I found an insect under the sand in the Snake River that almost looked like one. I thought it was a hellgrammite that recently turned into a dobsonfly. I am trying to find it what it is. I have a picture of it attached if you want to see it.

Jared
[signature]
I can't say for sure but it has the general shape of a dragon fly nymph.
[signature]
Hello,

That is exactly what I thought. It might be a dragonfly nymph. Maybe I should get some dragonfly nymph flies and try fly fishing the snake river now that I know what is down there.....

Anyway, I have a question, how do you find hellgrammites? I don't know if they exist in Idaho or not, but I wanted to try looking. Any ideas?

Jared
[signature]
They are generally found in faster moving water like riffles. You can turn over rocks and they will be clinging to the bottom of the rocks. You can also kick over rocks and hold a net below them and they will wash into the net. If you do find them be careful, their bite will draw blood.
[signature]
Hello,