Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Idaho steelhead 2018
Has anyone been having any luck between salmon and challis so far this year? I have fished there 2 times a year for ten years and still have never landed one. Any tips or things that have worked for you? I usually use a bobber with a bead or a jig tipped with shrimp.
[signature]
Wow you haven't landed one in 10 years. I don't fish the upper Salmon but the lower Salmon and the Clearwater.I am no pro by any means but I catch a few. You might try hooking up with a guide or some one who knows. I fly fish usually egg or leach patterns on or near the bottom. Time of year I am thinking upper salmon mid march early April after ice breaks out. The fish hold lower in the big water for high water before they move up stream after ice out. Roe is a good method if you can find any.
They are catching fish now on the lower Salmon below Riggins but that is big water I have a hard time with big water. Best of luck wish I could be more help. Beads, yarn, roe, egg pattern and shrimp and the bottom. Rut
[signature]