Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
get away from the crowds
I've been fishing yellowstone lake for 25 years now and I've shared a few trips on here the last few years. I'm sharing again because if most of you are like me, getting away from the crowds is almost as important as finding fish!
Yes it's a little bit of a hassle but i promise it's worth it.
tips: only a few camp sites on the lake will allow beaching or tying up your boat...request/reserve yours early.. like Feb before season opens. you can always camp in island park or hebgen lake - short distance outside of park.
boat permit/inspection required, park fishing license required. offices inside park that do this open 8am and usually close at 4pm. no bait, no barbs, no plastics, no lead... however you can use a downrigger ball and leaded line to get down deep of needed. In June, both the cutthroat and lake trout can be found in 30 fow or less. use your favorite spoon or spinner, i promise you'll catch fish - all quality fish too!
take it or leave it - there's some info - go out and enjoy!
here's a few pics from the three trips in June
Thanks for sharing a great report and pictures .
[signature]
Ironrod, always look forward to your park report and pics!
[signature]
[Smile][cool]
[signature]
[cool][cool]
[signature]
[quote ironrod][Smile][cool][/quote]

Don't tell me that pink meat was a Mackinaw.
[signature]
I caught one just like that, as far as the meat color, several years ago at Flaming Gorge. I had never seen a Mackinaw with meat that color before and one of the guys on here explained it was caused by the diet of the fish. I guess from what he said, most Mackinaw switch over to a only eating other fish when they reach a certain size but some never switch and continue to eat freshwater shrimp, flies, etc. Mackinaw that never switch to a fish diet have that color flesh, those that do switch, their flesh is white, at least that was what I was told.
[signature]