Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Outboard recommendations
Hoping for some advice from the more experienced members. I am looking to get a small all-purpose outboard. I have 3 boats I would like to use it on. would be the primary motor for craft #1 and #2, and a back-up/trolling motor for craft #3. I have little to no experience with outboards.

Craft #1 is a 12' aluminum sea sprite from the 70's. This has been my primary fishing boat since I was a kid. In all the years, I have always used 30# minn-kota with a marine battery (or oars). The electric motor is quiet and it gets the job done, as long as I don;t want to go over 4mph, or troll for more than a few hours. The nameplate on the transom gives a max outboard of 10HP and a max weight in the boat of  about 350lbs. 

Craft #2 is a 16' fiberglass canoe. it has a sqaure back to mount a motor, and have used the electric motor a number of times, but paddles are most often used. On occasion would be nice to have an outboard to help move along. I do not know what (if any) hp the canoe is rated for.

Craft #3 is a 16' hydro-swift hydroswift project boat (there will be some other threads covering this) that I have been working on over the winter and am hoping to get into shape so I can take it out this summer. I have an old outboard on this now that functions and can get the boat moving pretty quick but it does not like to go under about 1.5mph, and can be moody when I want it to start. Was able to take the boat out once last fall before it got cold to find all this out.
Due to the age of the motor, I would feel much better with a trolling motor that can also be used as a backup if the main outboard doesn;t feel like working.