Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
utah lake cat info?
ive been fishing utah lake for a few years now, about 20 or so.. looking for cats over that 10 lb range, any suggestions, seems like theres infinite amounts of 5-8 lb 22-27" cats but were are the big ones, im sure theres a hand full of 25+ pounders in there... so where are all the cats between state record size and cookie cutter size?! i know the loys that do the carp netting got one pushing 36 lbs a few years ago. thats the only large one recently ive heard of, has anyone else caught any over say 15 pounds?
6When you have as many people catching and keeping the number of cats out of a water,  you tend to limit the population to numbers rather than size.  While there are a few of those pushing the envelope of 10plus,  the dynamics favor numbers of smaller fish.  Those bigger specimans will also tend to be less active, feeding at very specific times when it suits them, rather than us.  They also feed less often, taking a bigger meal that lasts them longer.  You almost have to hunt them, like a trophy buck or bull.  Specific locations, specific times of the day, specific baits.  Good luck !!  Good hunting !!
Ya, I agree.  And not to put too find a point on it, how many of us want to toss a bait too big to tempt the cookie cutters but be right for the trophy, knowing that we might not catch but two or three fish a year.

But, if it was a trophy buck, a trophy elk, we might.  LOL