Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Planer board setups on Jordanelle
So how do you setup planer boards for Kokes. I’ve never used them before.
I’m assuming everyone is still using typical dodger and squid rigs, any weight
Added to the line ? Seems everyday is a new tackle setup over the past few years.... Smile
With the crew I had this past weekend I ran 1 rod out the back with a setup that I wanted to try for the boards and is used a lot in the northwest. Made a leader out of braid, 1st section is about 8” long with barrel swivels at each end and the line between the two barrel swivels was run through a snap swivel eye ( this lets the the swivel slide on the line and is used to attach the weight to), behind the 8” leader I tied another 18” piece of braid to 1 of the barrel swivels and then a snap swivel to the end to attach to the dodger or sling blade ( the 18” leader lets the dodger work without the weight interfereing). The set up worked well and caught fish. You can let the line out to get to your desired depth and then hook the line to the planner board clip and let it slide out to the board. I’ve attached the “chart” I used for weight size and distance to get to the depth I wanted. I don’t have the rig here at the rental house or I would post a pic of it, I can get one tomorrow if needed
[Image: 9-BB70-E8-D-167-A-4704-8-AC4-58633-DCC0165.png]