Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Unusual sturgeon trips
I made two one-day sturgeon trips this week.  It was nice to have the weather finally cool down enough that I was comfortable going after them again.  I fished a new area and we caught a few.  The first trip we managed to land 10 (also lost 4), with the largest going 76".  The second trip we landed 13 (also lost 3 and had 1 break off), with the largest going 78". On both trips we missed far more bites than we hooked.

The first trip was all sturgeon; however, the second trip was extremely unusual.  I have been fishing for sturgeon for ~15 years and never caught a carp.  On this trip I caught 3 carp (all mirror carp), two Utah chubs and a perch.  The carp were all caught on pickled herring (Having used herring on all of my trips I figured carp didn't like pickled herring).

Attached are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure.[Image: Mirror-carp.png][Image: Sturgeon-1.jpg]

[/url][url=https://ibb.co/qdVmLwh][Image: Sturgeon-2.jpg]
(10-02-2020, 06:53 PM)kentofnsl Wrote: I made two one-day sturgeon trips this week.  It was nice to have the weather finally cool down enough that I was comfortable going after them again.  I fished a new area and we caught a few.  The first trip we managed to land 10 (also lost 4), with the largest going 76".  The second trip we landed 13 (also lost 3 and had 1 break off), with the largest going 78". On both trips we missed far more bites than we hooked.

The first trip was all sturgeon; however, the second trip was extremely unusual.  I have been fishing for sturgeon for ~15 years and never caught a carp.  On this trip I caught 3 carp (all mirror carp), two Utah chubs and a perch).  The carp were all caught on pickled herring (Having used herring on all of my trips I figured carp didn't like pickled herring).

Attached are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure.[Image: Mirror-carp.png][Image: Sturgeon-1.jpg]

[/url][url=https://ibb.co/qdVmLwh][Image: Sturgeon-2.jpg]