Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Electric fillet knives?
I'm getting ready to head over to UL to catch some catfish. I usually don't keep any because I don't fillet very well and my family doesn't eat much. But my 5 y.o. great-granddaughter begged me to bring home some so she can see them. So I thought I'd go get a good electric knife somewhere local. I checked the internet to try to figure out good models. I suspect the only ones I can get around here will be Berkley and Rapalas. They don't seem to be very good from the reviews I read. So I'm asking all of you about your experiences. What would you recommend? What should I stay away from? I would hope to buy one for $50 or less but I realize I may have to spend more for a quality item.
The older I get the more I would rather be considered a good man than a good fisherman.

I have the Rapala electric. I fillet a lot of fish and have not had any complaints. I have no experience with others so I cannot compare, but I am happy with mine. I hardly ever use my old hand blade anymore except to gut at the Strawberry fish station as we are not allowed to fillet.
Happy with my rapala, have done quite a few fish with it.
I bought my first electric fillet knife about 16 or 17 years ago, I finally had to replace it last year, so I bought another one just like it. Mr Twister is the brand I've been using all those years. Sure can't complain about it, filleted thousands of fish with it and only replaced the blades once in all those years.