Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How much line to let out behind a downrigger?
I have read a few ideas on here regarding how much line to let out behind a downrigger, but I would like to hear from a wider group. How much line do you let out when using a downrigger for trout, for macks, for kokanee, and for whatever else you are using them for?
[signature]
I've only fished Strawberry, Fish Lake, and Flaming Gorge with downriggers, so I am by no means an expert. I'm going by more of what I've read on here and been told by others on the water.

Strawberry we would let out about 30 feet if the fish were holding in less than 30 feet of water (which is almost always there) and would catch Rainbow, Cuts, and an occassional Koke. Very productive way to fish there if you have the electronics to keep you on the fish.

Fish Lake, we trolled all over that lake from 45 feet down to 110 feet down and tried from 40 feet out to over 150 feet out. The only fish I caught rigging there was a 3lb. Rainbow at 75 feet down and about 100 feet behind the rigger. I stick to jigging there.

Flaming Gorge we trolled from 75-150 feet behind the rigger and didn't have any luck for big fish and minimal luck for smaller fish. Then I was told to run 150-250 feet out for the big fish, but by then I no longer had access to a downrigger to try it.

Like I said, no expert. On Strawberry there were days that we couldn't even keep the boat going in any perticular direction because every pole on board would go at the same time leaving noone to steer. There, I can say about 30 feet out works quite well.
[signature]
I'm sure you will get a wide response to this post - I have heard some folk actually hook their flashers to the downrigger ball and then have their release off the end of the flashers with just the lure on there line.