Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How are the edges?
As a scientist, I am intrigued by the interactions of man and the earth.  This is highlighted this time of year by poor edge conditions at many reservoirs.  As a younger man, I assumed the sketchy edge conditions were caused by melting of the ice.  I guess indirectly melting has a definite effect, but only in terms of the snow melt that produces runoff that is captured by man to refill reservoirs.  As the water rises, the ice cap recedes from the edges.  The edges freeze again, but the continuing water level rise may not let edges get super competent.  My thoughts turned to two recent visits to popular Utah reservoirs affected by drought - Willard Bay and Rockport.

At Willard Bay, the bottom is fairly flat until you get to the dikes, then it rises abruptly up the sides.  Currently, water levels are such that along the south side, the edge of the water is 50-100 feet from the dikes.  There is a similar ring of "new ice" around the edge, maybe 50 feet in width.  This is caused by water levels rising, with the ice cap pulling further from shore and new ice forming.  For some reason, I couldn't find elevation data for Willard after the first of the year.  Based on observations in both marinas, I don't think it has come up much, but even a few inches may make a large gap between shore and ice cap.

At Rockport, there is more relief/structure along the dam side, while other spots are fairly flat.  My recent trip showed maybe a 5 foot area along the edges near the dam that had refrozen.  It was also apparent that the ice cap may have moved (with the wind) causing some jumbling of ice around the edges.  Rockport is up just over 8 feet since Christmas.  I've attached a chart for Rockport showing water level rise since Christmas day.