Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help a newbie! please!
i'm new to vegas from northern utah, the land of many many close places to fish. i need help cuz i'm not at all familliar with the areas fisheries. i'm sure there are great places on lake mead if ya know em but i'm lost. can you guys tell me some good spots to get away to on a sat. or sun. morning that are fairly close and accessible. i sold my truck when i moved here for a fuel efficient car so i can make the long drive home a lot but now i'm limited to the places i can access in the wilderness. sucky. i will fish for any kind of fish. being from northern utah i know a lot about trout fishin and i've been into bass a lot recently. but i just wanna fish man! it's been since august that i last went and i'm goin crazy! any advice on somewhere to go. i have waders and a float tube, no boat, its in utah, but some shore fishin or easy wadin or tubin is what i'm lookin for. thanks guys for the help.
[signature]
[size 2] [font "comic sans ms"] Hey there jj74, welcome to Southern Nevada and welcome to the Nevada board. Well, coming from Northern Utah, you may be a little disappointed with the fishing in Southern Nevada. Not many fishing water options unless you want to travel. As Doz2 mentioned [url "http://ndow.org/fish/"]NDOW[/url] is a good place to start. You can pick and choose your fish of choice and they will tell which waters they can be found. If your not familiar with large bodies of water, Lake Mead can be brutal and not very forgiving in a float tube. We have a few members that go out there in their tubes and get results. A side note: Stripers are a migratory fish. They can be any place at anytime. They're always looking for an easy meal. (typically not the meal I offer)

Take care,
David
[signature]