Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Landlocked at Bear
Considering going to Bear Lake this coming weekend any suggestions on where to fish and what to use from the shore? Any input would greatly be appreciated. I am new to Utah and fresh water fishing and could use all the help possible. Thank you in advance!!
[signature]
Without a boat, you are somewhat restricted in both available waters and access. Wherever there are fish and access to shore fishermen, you have to bring your own rock to stand on. But, this is one time of year when you can have a shot at spawning macs without having a boat. They come into fairly shallow water, where they are also susceptible to "Bear Lake dry flies"...snagging rigs. All snagged fish must be immediately released, but that does not stop the fish hogs

Reports I am getting say that there are some fish being taken by shore fiehermen both at the State Park Marina, on the west side, and in the rocky areas around Cisco Beach on the east side. One successful angler advised wearing chest waders to allow getting more distance in your casts. Be sure to wear something warm underneath. And, don't forget to bring that rock.

If you are not familiar with Pugstones operation in the area, visit their website at [url "http://www.anglerguide.com/affiliate/pugstones/"]http://www.anglerguide.com/affiliate/pugstones/[/url] They keep up the fishing report pretty well, and will email you if you have specific questions.
[signature]
hey boatless