Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Toon Rack for car
Thought I saw a post about using PVC to rig up a pontoon rack that sits on top of an existing roof rack. Basically had two horizontal pieces that kicked upwards on the door sides of the car sort of hugging the outside of the pontoons. One above say front door and one above the rear door. These were cinched onto the existing rack. Anyone got pictures of the finished product? Thanks
[signature]
Two things here. Be careful of factory racks and well built kickboats.
It's true. Tore his Expedition right off the top down the freeway at 70mph. After all that, just a few minor scrapes and new seat, he was ready to go. It's a testament to Dave Scadden boats. Just be glad there wasn't a semi behind him.
[signature]
Thanks. I will be using the same rack/car that I have been carrying 4 kayaks on at 80+ for three years. I think it will be okay. Never had a problem. Of course, it's a Subaru that is marketed to "Sports" minded folks. LOL. It hits 100,000 in 275 more miles. It's just waking up. My last one hit 283,000 before the last owner sold it (father in law).

bigdaddyjohn
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]I was probably the one who posted the pic of a PVC roof rack. I've been knowed to play with that stuff before. The first pic shows my experimental model, positioned under my (former) Fish Cat Cougar. It was basically a rectangular contraption, with elbows and risers to provide lateral support to the craft while underway.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]I only used it once. I found that I could carry the toon just as well by securing all four corners to the existing roof rack and then running support lines from the front rings to the front bumper. That made it rock solid, with little chance of "liftoff", and eliminated the need for extra PVC foo-foo.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]