Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new to burbot
Hey guys, I'm new to burbot fishing and can anyone give me some tips. I'm going ice fishing, and I have never been to flaming gorge, can someone give me a good location on where to catch burbot in utah. And what are some of the lures and baits you use. And what kind of tackle would you recommend. Thanks guys.
[signature]
Location is not important, generally. They really like crawdads so rocky areas are prime. (The whole lake is rocky area w/ crawdads). There are more important factors than location. Once you have all the other factors dialed in and you are not doing very good - just move around and you'll find them. (Usually you can just move 50-100 yards).

Points are good, ledges are good, etc.

Depth can be an important factor depending on time of year. 10-15ft is best general depth but they do move shallower during spawn and you can always find some deeper too.

You can use 6 rods or lines per person. So spread them out, put some shallow and taper them off deep until you figure out where they seem to be cruising.

Baits: Think big. I like using tube jigs, twister tails and spoons for my active rods. I usually use a piece of sucker that is about a half inch wide and up to 3-4" long. When you add that to a 4-5" tube or spoon your bait is about 7-8" long in some cases... and even the smaller burbot will eat this size bait. I don't know how they get it in their mouth but they do.

Burbot like to stay very close to the bottom. It's hard to use flashers to locate them at the Gorge because most places the bank is so steep the cone angle does not give you a good reading of the bottom. (many of you have seen this - where you drop your lure down to the "bottom" indicated by the flasher and it keeps going another 6 feet and you can't see whats going on).