Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Causey report
Hey all this is my first time posting and Im happy to be aboard. Well IFG's report on pineview got me up there, but where we usually fish on the north side of cemetery point was open water. So I crossed my fingers and went to causey. I fished the keisel arm where the ice was about 2 1/2 inches. I was in about 20 feet of water and only caught a couple of small splake. After a bit I moved in to about 10 feet of water and I couldnt get my bait to the bottom, all little guys. Then right before I left I caught the biggest splake Ive seen up there. It will definitely get me up there again. I was using a small silver swedish pimple with a waxie. My buddy was using a silver and green kastmaster and doing pretty well also. Lots of open water and soft spots but I did see some other people on the ice. I did use a little bit of 4WD to get out of there it was a nice day.,
[signature]
[font "Comic Sans MS"][size 3]Welcome to the board, IGotOne! Thanks for the report. Sounds like ice is shaping up everywhere. At 2-1/2" Though, think I'll wait! Again welcome and thanks for the report![/size][/font]
[signature]
welcome to the utah board IGotOne - hey the state catch and release record for splake is 16 inches . .

TROUT, Splake 08/12/99 16"

[url "http://www.wildlife.utah.gov/fishing/recfish.html"]http://www.wildlife.utah.gov/fishing/recfish.html[/url]

somebody from bft's gotta break that this winter, maybe you did but didn't know it!

sm
[signature]
Welcome aboard IG1! [cool] Nice report! I still have to make it back to Causey to fish but, I'll hit all the great UT lakes again sooner or later! [Wink] I haven't fished Causey for about 20 years... Man, time flies! [unimpressed]
[signature]