Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strawberry/Soldier Creek Report
Yesterday I spent a couple of hours fishing in that last bay you see on Highway 40. There was about 6 inches of good ice there. The middle of the lake looked frozen (at least 95% covered), but it didn't look safe.

We got there at 7AM and only fished until 10 because we had to get back. It was slower than I expected. We caught a total of 16. 14 of those were rainbows and about 10 of those rainbows were only 12-13 inches long. I don't know what the deal was, maybe it was the bay we were fishing in, but I"ve never caught that many small fish there. We did catch two nice cutts in the 18 inch range, but they had to go back. The fishing was getting a lot better about the time that we had to leave. Wish we could have stayed. We brought home 4 rainbows that were 15-16 inches long.

-Jack
[signature]
[cool]Sounds like a fairly good day on the ice, Shrimpboy. I'm not an expert, but I'd guess that as the whole lake freezes, maybe the fishing will get even hotter. Maybe in a week? Good fishin' to ya!
[signature]
[Wink]oh yeah, how this was the ice @ Soldier Creek, and what were you guys using?
[signature]
The ice was about six inches thick where we were. I only saw one other set of old holes. No one else came to fish while we were there. I didn't venture out to the new ice to see how thick it was.

I started off using a white 1/16 oz paddle bug tipped with a piece of crawler and crawdad smelly jelly. My cousin was using a small glow ice jig with crawler and crawdad jelly under a swedish pimple. Towards the end I switched over the same set up but with a pink shrimpo. That seemed to work a little better.