Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Unthinkable Chukar question.
I have been doing a ton of research on Chukar this year. I have some locations in mind to hunt but would really just like to get into them this year. I live in Saratoga Springs and am thinking Lake Mountain might have a great population. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? I most likely will be by myself but might have my Dad and his two German Shorthairs. They are great Pheasant and Grouse hunters and have flushed up a Chukar while hunting on a farm one time. So as long as I can get to an area they are actually at, I think we can find them. Thanks in advance for your help.
[signature]
I think the right direction for Chukars is either "don't do it" or "up"!

I can't offer any words of encouragement unfortunately as I'm only a novice chukar-er but from my experience, my advice is stick to grouse [Smile]
[signature]
I don't have any locations, just be careful of rattlesnakes.
[signature]
If I encounter a rattlesnake when I am searching for these elusive bird it might be a treat. I have never encountered one in the wild before. None the less a good pair of boots and pants will be on me at all times.
[signature]
I wasn't concerned about you, the dogs they are not good for.
[signature]
Stansbury Island North of Tooele can have some. I tried twice last year, beat myself up bad on the brutal hiking, and only dusted a couple of birds, but they were there. This year will be my 2nd try. Hopefully I can do better. My friend has a dog that is partially trained that took me last year.
[signature]