Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trout/Other Fish Setup?
I am new to fishing, but have recently done a decent amount of it and have done some research. I am located in Flagstaff, AZ where there are a lot of lakes around here stocked with trout as well as pike and catfish. As of now I have just been fishing for trout and I am using a Mitchell Rod and Reel (although the reel seems to be falling apart). I am looking into getting a new setup possibly, and have about $100 to spend. I would like to get something pretty common that I can find at Big 5 or other retailers instead of waiting to get something online. I would also like to get something a little versatile that I can fish other things besides trout with. I have had a couple people recommend the Ugly Stick rod.

What are your guys' suggestions for a rod and reel?
What lb line? I have been using 4lb
What bait? I have been using a small spinner or a small hook with garlic scented corn
Lure?

Oh, and also I am fishing off the shoreline.

Thanks!
[signature]
Welcome to the site CC268. Ugly Stick rods are a good choice in that price range. As far as a reel, that is hard to say, there are a lot of good brands out there, I usually look for some type of combo. What kind of reel do you fish with now? The more you spend, the more you get, so just look for one in your pice range. As far as line, it depends on how big the fish are that you are trying to catch but in general I use 10 to 12 pound test. As far as what you need to catch fish in your local area, I would go to a smaller local bait shop or sportmans store, they can help you better on what lure or bait selection will work best in the lake or river you are fishing. Hope that helps.
WH2
[signature]