Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's the best boat insurance?

I'm new to this here site and I noticed one of the topics you could talk about is boat insurance. Nobody seems to care that much about it, which I thought was a bit surprising considering how important it is. I mean, my own boat got destroyed a couple years ago when a big storm hit and if it weren't for insurance, I'd be using a dingy. I'm just saying, I think it'd be a good idea to post the best places one could get insurance, cause it's so important.

My insurance company is united marine underwriters. Here's a link to their site:

[url "http://www.unitedmarine.net/"]http://www.unitedmarine.net/[/url]

When my boat got smashed, they helped me get a new one pretty quick. No fuss, no muss. Anybody out there know what I'm talking about?
[signature]
I wouldn't take my boat out on the water without insurance, especially with all the crazies on Lake Sinclair. I've only been here a short while, but I know there have been fatal boating accidents on the lake in both of the last two years.
I have an old Tracker that's paid for, so I just have liability insurance. It's cheap, $50 a year for $300,000 coverage through my auto insurance company. Well worth the price!
[signature]
I got mine through the dealer when I bought the boat and some how their tied in with Mercury and Lund. $300.00 a bit pricey, but has full replacement no matter how old the boat gets.
[signature]
I use Progressive Boat Insurance. I run a jet boat in shallow, rocky rivers, so insurance is a must. The price is pretty reasonable. I have full replacement value coverage on the boat, which cost around 16k. My annual premiums are only about $160.00. I don't think that is too bad.

Dave
[signature]
Thanks, everyone, for your replies - it's been really informative (and "informative" is about as sophisticated as my vocabulary gets[Wink])!