Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
dropshot...for largemouth
I have been fairly successful on dropshotting for smallies but what about largemouth? I have used the same techniques as you would for smallmouth and have have caught numerous lmb but my hook up/boated ratio for lmb's is considerably less. I have tried different sized 'dropshot' hooks and some of the Owner long shank dropshot hooks but still have no better success. I tried using a G-Lock hook but it seems to be too big of a hook.
Help me, any suggestions?
[signature]
[unsure] I have never tried drop shot fishing. How do you rig, what type of rod is best? Spinning or baitcasting? What action rod? Type of line braid, mono, or fluorocarbon?
[signature]
I am very new at dropshooting but I use 8lb test line, on a medium action spinning rod. The hooks I use are the small live bait hooks, unfortunatly don't remember the size but they are almost round and about 1/2" in diameter. The person who showed me this technic gave me a few hooks and I am still using them so I never saw the package, he told me the size but I don't remember.

I tie a palomar noth on the hook and have maybe 20" to the weight.
[signature]
Heres an article I found for you bassngal that explains more than I could.[font "Arial"][size 5]Drop-Shotting . . . From A to Z
[/size][size 3]By [url "http://www.insideline.net/team/terrybattisti.htm"]Terry Battisti[/url][/size]