Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
South Fork
I was advised that the South Fork was doing pretty good right now, problem is that I'm not familiar with South Fork. I'm relatively new to the sport and still learning the local spots. I live in Ogden. Where is the South fork in general, and where are some good specific spots to drop a fly?
[signature]
Anywhere above pineview especially near the campgrounds below causey res. Standard nymphs work well as well as dries right now in the 40* temps.
[signature]
Thank you very much. I'm not real familiar with the area, are there any specific areas that are better than the rest? I'd like to try that area out.
[signature]
Do you know where South Fork Campground is? If you know that i can tell you better.
[signature]
I am aware of where that campground is.
[signature]
Right before you hit that campground there is a big pullout at the top of the "hill". Park there and fish the river from there to Meadows campground. It usually takes about 2 to 3 hours to fish it all and there are some very nice browns and whitefish in that stretch. If you want more just head up the canyon to the cafe and turn right. Go fish below the dam and down river a mile or so. There are some great holes there too.
[signature]
Great! Thank you for your help. We're going to hit it on Saturday. It'll will be nice to know some more local spot. Tight Lines -Brett
[signature]
No prob. Maybe on a weekend i can show you some other places too.[Wink]
[signature]
that'd be great. We'll have to set it up sometime.
[signature]