Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Barbless fishing
So who else is doing this?? I've been fishing barbless, when I get to fish, for a few years now.. I really only fish for sport and only keep a few fish to eat occasionally.. So losing a fish every now and then doesn't bother me much..

A couple of reasons I fish barbless are

1. I think it's easier on the fish.. Especially when they swallow the hook deep.. Makes it a lot easier to turn them loose.. It also helps with toothy fish like Northerns.. It makes release the little guys as easy as just reaching out with the hook pliers and turning your wrist over.. No slimy fish in the bottom of the boat..

2. Hooks in thumbs are now easier to deal with.. I've only sunk a couple of hooks in to my fingers.. And just once since starting to fish barbless.. Barbless is definitely easier to deal with..

Anyway, just wondering how many people are fishing this way now.. I know some places up north where it's actually required.. I also thought it might make for a nice article on my new fishing site..
[signature]
I agree 100%. If you have only one reason for using barbless hooks it's safety. I found that out when my kids were really young. It's a lot easier to remove a barbless hook.

I even bend down the barbs on all my lures. So much easier to release a fish.
[signature]
I have been pinching the barbs down on most of my lures with trebles for a few years now. When I'm fishing salt water I'll remove all the trebles and put a single hook on the back with the barb pinched shut. That makes the lure easy to grab when taking off the toothy fish.
[signature]