Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Old Johnson kicker help
I got a 1971 johnson 9.5hp kicker motor from a friend of mine to use as a trolling motor. I got it started last fall but it didn't run very good. I also noticed that the new gear oil I put in was leaking out.

I was wondering how hard it would be to put new seals in the lower unit. I was thinking if I could get the oil leak fixed myself, then take it to a good mechanic to get it running right it might save me some money. I have never worked on outboard motors before though.

Should I give it a try or just take it to a boat shop? I really hate to put more money into it than it is worth. Does anyone know a good boat mechanic around the Idaho Falls area that doesn't charge an arm and a leg?

I took it over to river rat marine to see if he would look at it for me but he said it wasn't even worth looking at, and would cost more than it was worth. He didn't seem to really want to work on it or want my business. So should I just junk it or try to fix it? Thanks for any help.
[signature]
Last summer I rebuilt a 1953 Evinrude 3 hp Lightwin and got a 1950 5 hp Johnson running again. Go ahead and try, there are plenty of places to find info on the net. I discovered NAPA has a marine catalog and the local NAPA was able to order all my parts out of Seattle and get them in a few days.

If it doesn't work, give it to me. [Wink]
[signature]
I don't know who would work on it around here. I checked with River Rat last year about an older Johnson and they said they couldn't even find out what year it was (real helpful [crazy]). I later found out that it was bought by some other people a few years ago and the new people aren't nearly as experienced yet. I haven't been able to find an other Johnson repair place around here.
[signature]
It is worth it if you can figure them out. One place i can tell you is instrumental in finding old motor parts is Seaway in Seattle. I think their website is seawaymarine.com[cool]