Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Crankbait rod
I'm fairly new to the whole bass fishing world. I have done some but being from Utah its pretty hard to find great bass fishers that are close enough to fish on a regular basis. I have one casting and reel but it doesn't seem to cast crankbaits very well. It does great with jigs and some spinners but I think crankbaits are too light for them. I was wondering what some attributes I should look for when buying a rod and reel for crankbaits? I have found some rods that are made for crankbait casting, are rods actually good at casing crankbaits or should I look for something else.

Just to let you all know I was looking into the All-star ASR crankbait rod and possibly the Shimano Curado E reel. Does that sound like a good combo for what I'm looking at doing with it?
[signature]
I live in Utah as well and there are plenty of bass fisheries. I noticed you live in Price and there really isn't much near you, unfortunately. Huntington North and Starvation are probably the closest, I think.
The ASR series of All Star rods are much better than their 'standard' rods in my opinion. I use a Rogue crankbait rod with a Quantum Energy reel 6.3:1 ratio. I like to use a faster reel so I don't have to reel as much with a slower one like a 5.3:1. I can always reel slower if I need to. The Curado is a great reel, I've been eyeballing one myself.
There are lots of companies that make crankbait specific rods but you can always get the feel of one and compare it to other rods.My cb rod has a slow tip and mh backbone that flings out even the lightest crankbaits with ease. I can't wait for some open water so I can use it...I don't know if I answered any of your questions, I started talking about myself [crazy].
[signature]