Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question about braided line on spincast reels?
Hey everybody.

Here's what's up. A friend gave me a Zebco 33 spincast reel today. It's hardly been used, and I'm not even sure I'll use it but I wanted to try it since I've never used a spincaster before. However, I want to know if it can be used with Berkley PowerPro braided line.

I know some of the concerns with this is (1) the ceramic pins utilized in the reel as opposed to steel pins and (2) the plastic spool. However, Im wondering, if I'm careful not to put too much strain on the line while reeling (by adjusting the drag appropriately, NOT reeling when line is hung up, etc.) and if I'm careful not to reel in loose line, will my PowerPro work or will I have to use my 15lb mono?

FYI I'm going to be using this for bass fishing, primarily.

Opinions? Has anyone used braid successfully with spincasters WITHOUT destroying your reel?
[signature]
Hi there..tips from Pauly pro.Use backing incase you want to use just half a spool of 150yards.If you don't need alot of line,my buddy adds tape to the spool to fill it up,and then adds his line.I lay the spool on the ground and use a rag to hold the line,must be tight,real tight!.Don't over fill the spool,you may find out why,the hard way.I flip the spool over if I see it twisting,even so I flip the spool around a few times while adding line to the reel.

I use cheap rods and never had a problem with my line guides?Whatever you do,don't buy the 5or8lb powerpro,it will twist bad!.10is fine,I use it and 15,and 4in fireline,used to use 20,but its an overkill.