Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
WHAT SIZE MOTOR??
Hey I am sitting here contemplating what size motor goes on what size boat. I am currently in the process of findin, rescuing, and resurecting a good ole' 14 foot aluminum boat so if you have any leads let me know. That being said, if I should happen to end up with a 12 or a 14 or a 16 what size motors can/would I want to put on them respectively. I goto Flaming Gorge quite a bit in summer, but mostly would be using the boat on Deer Creek, Jordanelle, Rock Port, and Pineview and possibly Utah lake and Yuba maybe once a year at one or the other. So seeing as how I am a rookie at fishin boats, and my wife and 5yearold kid are expecting me to be a pro, got any pointers? My main concern is finding a tiller mount motor with enough power to blaze me across the lake, but I WILL be trolling like a madman, my plan is to get a few down riggers, electronics, and I am already in posession of a lectric 22thrust LB. motor off of my float tube. Thanks in advance.

Laters,
[signature]
whatever boat you get DO NOT exceed what its rated for theres usually a coast guard stamp on what motor to put on it. I had a 12' fiberglass boat with a 5.5hp motor on it as my 1st boat and it was great. I was a little leary on going out in the middle of some lakes and was always watching weather and other boats though.

I wouldn't go with anything smaller than a 5hp but no bigger than a 15hp.

being your first boat and all I'd stay in that range, you can capsize a small boat real easy by overpowering them plus you do want to do some trolling you can still troll with a 15hp.

if you do happen to get a 16' boat you can go with a little bigger engine but dont exeed your limits of common sence and be aware of what your doing and where your going. DZ
[signature]