Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A few Catfishin Question
I am feeling a little overwhelmed by the options when it comes to presenting bait for catfish. I am new to catfishin but i am intrigued by the possibility of big fish and the taste.

So, with slow drifting minnows and attractor beads is a slip-sinker rig prefferable? Do you set the hook right away or do you hesitate and let them eat it? Treble or single hook? is stink bait worth the smell? Do they hit jigs when swam, bounced or dragged on the bottom?

I like to fish Willard, Utah lake, and the Jordan river for cats. I have tryed mostly stink bait and worms slip-sinker rigged mostly in the off season with little luck. Any help is great.

Thanks,
Eric
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]You can catch cats on almost anything...at one time or another. But there are a few things that will work more often...especially in Utah.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]First of all, forget the stink bait. Yes, you will get bites and you will get a few fish. Some folks around here swear by it. Always a matter of opinion. But the cataholics I know generally prefer some form of "natural" bait...and the fresher the better. [/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]Utah cats are no different than cats anywhere else. They will seldom turn down a meal of dead meat...animal, fowl or fish. But they are also active predators and often hunt, chase down and eat live food...worms, crawdads, minnows, amphibians and even rodents.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]