Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Slow one at Utah Lake
I have been itching for things to warm up and to get back to UL for some catfishing. I am very new to catfishing, having cut my teeth on a few outings last year. I was confined to bank fishing and decided to try the dike at AF boat harbor, hoping the cats were in. It was pretty windy and a bit cool. I began at 4:30, starting on the end of the dike using chicken liver on the bottom on one rod and shrimp tipped with crawler about 3 feet under a bobber on the other. I tried the first spot for about 30 mins with no action. There was a couple fishing just around the dike in some calmer water and they were having sporadic success on worms. I moved around and down from them in water closer to the boat channel and a bit more out of the wind. I pulled the bobber and had both baits on the bottom. I got an occasional small tug on the line but no big bendo.

I tried a few different baits like a squid, straight night crawler, and even a chunk of hot dog. Ended up with just one bullhead on the crawler. It was cold and breezy, which may not have helped. I wish I had a few minnows or some white bass for some cut bait, but no dice. A gentleman next to me landed two nice cats on cut bait, but it was slow for him too. I pulled out about 8:30.

I'll keep at it, learning this stuff. Just picked up a nice float tube and I have read TubeDude's writing on Utah Lake and Tubin and Toonin, so I plan to put some time in the next few months really trying to improve my abilities to successfully fish cats. It is pretty addicting, and even a slow evening was still pretty nice.
[signature]
You could not have picked a better angler than TubeDude to learn from.
[signature]
"OCD = Obsessive Catfish Disorder "
    Or so it says on my license plate holder

Cool