Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Baitcast reels
I have just received a Quantum CX200 Baitcast reel from my brother-in-law for some carpentry work I did for him. I have never used a Baitcast reel. All my rigs are spinning reels. I can see it is going to take some practice to be able to use this reel. It came on a medium/heavy rod, which I llike very much. All my other rods are medium action.<br><br>I am very grateful to my brother-in-law for giving me this reel. Although this reel would not be a reel I would purchase myself, I feel I can learn the how too's about baitcast reels. I have done extensive research on baitcast reels for about two years now. I came to the conclusion several months ago that the baitcast reels I would purchase would be only Shimano.<br><br>Since I have never used a baitcast reel before, I have a few questions. First, I noticed after casting that I had to switch the rod to my left hand because the reel handle is on the right. Is this how all baitcast reels are made? All my spinning reels have the reel handle on the left side, which is assume is correct for a right hander. All the baitcast reels in all my catalogs have the reel handle on the right side. My brother-in-law says this is how baitcast reels are made. Is he right? I assumed this reel was for a left hander.<br><br>Second. With my 1/4 oz. practice plug on the line I have found I have very little control of my casts. I have since added a 3/8 oz. water gremlin rubbercor sinker and have increased my accuracy. Am I doing myself a disservice in adding this weight as I learn how to use this type reel? Should I just stick with the 1/4 oz. plug until I get it right?<br><br>I could really use any and all suggestions that may help me in learning to use a baitcast reel. Thanks, Joshua<br><br> <br><br><br><br>