Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
trolling question?
If I am trolling for trout on a lake like East Canyon in the spring time, and I am using an electric trolling motor on a 19' boat, and my lure is running only 5' deep, how far behind the boat should the line be as a minimum and how far to the side of the boat should the line be (planer boards needed?)? Just wondering with this shallow of a lure and this clarity level of water, how skittish the fish would be. The quiet motor should help, but I am new to this. Thx.
[signature]
I am a big fan of planer boards when trolling. You can add inline weights for more depth and get the lures way out to the side. If I want to run lures deeper of to the side you can use dipsy divers, since they dive deep and can go out the side. For real deep work I prefer downriggers.
[signature]
I use downriggers to get deeper! Is you are surface long lining, I would say 150 feet back is not longer. Planer boards are an option.
[signature]
Lol, great grammar on my part.
[signature]
at least 100 ft back, I have caught fish 30' from the boat letting the line out.
planer boards work great in the spring you can put two pole on one planer board one by the board the other 1/2 way to it.
If I have 3 in the boat we will have 6 lines out when the fish are on top 4 on planer boards and 2 on the downriggers
you catch a lot more fish with downriggers.
[signature]
[quote Optimizer]How far behind the boat should the line be as a minimum? [font "Comic Sans MS"][#800000]75 ft[/#][/font]