Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
bass ?
I'm heading out saturday to fish for bass, I have never fished for them any help on what to use and do would be great. thanks for any info
[signature]
Through the ice or open water? If fishing open, I'd wait a while, its too much work in the winter, the fishes metabolism is really slow, so they don't eat much, Give it a month or two, or wait till summer, and then head to flaming gorge, you can catch as many smallies as you'd like there. If you are fishing through the ice, jigs will probably do the trick. A mini jig tipped with a waxie or piece of crawler is the way to go, Maybe put a kastmaster on then a foot of leader and follow it up with an ice fly or small jig. Good luck, I don't think I'm heading for bass for atleast another month. Your bound to find someone that knows how to bass fish on this board. Where you headin' anyway?

Anthony
[signature]
while i am far from a expert bass fisherman drop me a line about the end of april and i'll take you to utah lake and show you somethings and areas that worked for me last year
[signature]
If you really need to fish for bass, go out west to Horse shoe in Skull Valley, or out to Blue lakes past wendover. Also, if it is open(not to sure) Stansburry at the East end in the hot springs would be Excellent right now for Big Bass, Blues, and slab Crappie. My ex caught a 7 lb. LM out of Horse shoe earlier this year, and her dad broke off about a 9 lb. LM in Blue lakes. The bait to use to catch LOTS of Big, bruser bass is fresh minnows, the fresher the better. I'm kind of an expert at the hot springs out thata way, shot me a PM and I can tell you all you need to know. I almost forgot to mention one other thing- a few years ago, before they closed Stansburry down, I caught a Bass outa there that was 1 ounce under state record.
[signature]