Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do OTHER crappie bite at night?
I've been fishing for crappie at night on Pineview for at least 8 years; something I learned about here. But, I've never heard a soul mention nightfishing at any of the other crappie spots in the state; Utah Lake, East Canyon, Holmes Creek, etc.

Have you? DO they? SHOULD they? Did I just create a hypothesis in need of testing?

The way my work is going, I'm getting called in to the hospital in Murray half the night most nights anyway (today is 16 days in a row either on shift or called in.) I may never get up to Pineview. Utah Lake is just a little further on.......

However, I have NEVER caught anything from the docks at AF, Lindon, or Pelican Bay except small pan fish during the summer. Others seem to. Any tips or insights there?
[signature]
I've thought the same thing you mention and tried Cutler in areas where I've caught the crappie during the days before and had zero luck in three attempts. But I think the areas I fish are areas that hunting parties of crappie roll through looking for food during the days and I think the pineview success is big pods of crappie hanging out together at night for safety as they sleep the night away.. If food comes to them, they may or may not take it, but the simple fact that the crappie stay there under you in PV is telling me that the fish are not moving around looking for food like they do here.. If I could find a spot where the fish go to overnight hang out, I'll bet they would act the same, but you need to be able to pinpoint those locations and in the shallower lakes that is pretty tough to do... So if you can find them, I'd say it will work, but if you're out just punching holes and hoping the fish will swim by, I don't think that will do any good... Just my thoughts, take them for they are worth... Later Jeff
[signature]
Nothing wrong with your thoughts, Jeff.