Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question about LE deer tag
I've been putting in for LE deer bonus points for 15 yrs and this year I'm going to cash in on that LE deer permit, I hope. My question is, what do you all think would be the best unit to apply in, for a chance to get at deer up to 30". I know there are places down South and in the Book Cliffs area but what about closer to Northern Ut? Any ideas? I know Deseret with be a good place to put in for but thought having a few more locations, might be a good idea.
[signature]
Only 15, it will be tough for henrys ,pansugaunt, book cliffs or lasal will be about maxed ponts, Ive seen some decent ones come off of vernon and oak creek, good luck, I would imagine you have looked at the odds of different areas.
[signature]
               O.C.F.D.
[Image: download.jpg]
PM sent
[signature]
Thanks, not sure where oak creek is located, is it a CWMU? I see an Oak ranch in Sevier county. Henrys, pansugaunt, & the book cliffs are a little too far for me. I guess Vernon is pretty close.
[signature]
oak creek is to the west of yuba, with your points, vernon would probaly be your best bet, there is a lot of atv access plus a place to fish,
Im up to 18 points waiting for Henrys ML someday.
[signature]
               O.C.F.D.
Diamond mountain (East of Vernal) has some big bucks - I can provide details if needed - we hunted archery during the morning and evening and fished in Caulder in between - fun hunt.
[signature]
Curt if you don't mind the cold 15 pts would get you the Crawford muzzy tag. Nov 16- Dec 1 . I have been on that hunt a few times and have seen some dandy bucks.
[signature]
Thanks Jamie, what is the biggest buck you have seen or heard come out of the Crawfords?
[signature]
Thanks Craig, I'll likely be doing a rifle hunt but what is the biggest deer you have seen or heard about being taken in the Diamond mountain unit?
[signature]