Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
video fishing
Howdy. I was told that some people here have underwater viewing systems (Aqua-vu, Atlantis, etc).

I'd like to know if you've used your system to tape underwater footage and what the results have been.

I've been taping for a couple of years now.

3 months 'til fishing opener here! (Minnesota)
[signature]
Have one -- no taping.
[signature]
[size 1]Had one -- no taping.[/size]
Welcome to the Utah boards Odin. I read that you could tape from the underwater systems, but I have never used one. A lot of the lakes around here get pretty murky in the fall and would make for tough viewing, but in the spring and summer, I would imagine that you would be able to see a fair distance..

Do you just tape when you are jigging/casting, or do you have a system for taping while under power?

What kind of distance do you actually get? I know that it depends on the water clarity and such, I am just looking at an average distance for the time that you have used it.

Hope you don't mind the questions, I would love to have one, but it doesn't fit the budget quite yet. Thanks for any response.
[signature]
Hi Curtis,

Thanks for the welcome. The two lakes where I do most of my taping have Spring secchi disk readings of about 20 feet. I usually tape on the edge of the weedline, about 24 feet down and visibility in the early Summer is about 7-12 feet, depending on time of day and cloudiness. By August, even my clearest lakes are too murky to tape much. Winter is supposed to be a prime time for clarity, but I haven't checked that out yet.

I've taped on less clear lakes through July with passable results, so I've found I don't need pristine clarity for good taping.