Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wow, what a trip - sturgeon report
Wow what a trip! I spent the last three days fishing with Hue and my cousin Randy. We had a little bit of everything. We landed 40 sturgeon, landed doubles three different times, had multiple break offs, had one of the eyes fall off of one rod, had one reel quit working, almost lost an angler overboard (fighting a sturgeon) and lost one entire fishing rig.

I have been fishing for sturgeon since July 2003 and in all of that time I had never had a sturgeon break off any of the rod holders on any of my boats or on the boats of others that I happened to be on. This was despite some ferocious bites when I wasn’t even sure I could lift the rod out of the holder. A fishing buddy up there had told me that he had experienced sturgeon breaking rod holders. Last year, Hue lost one of his rods, while fishing on someone else’s boat, and then had a rod holder snap on his boat earlier this year (rod was saved because he had it attached to a tether line).

This trip Hue provided us with tether lines to attach to all of our rods. I was pretty faithful about using them, despite never having one of my rod holders break. Randy was doing the same. Randy made a cast with one rod, put it in the rod holder (unfortunately, he didn’t immediately attach the tether line) and grabbed his other rod to cast it out. Before he even got ready to cast the other rod a sturgeon hit his first rod with such a violent strike that it was gone before he could grab it, despite him being less than two feet away from it. We didn’t even attempt to snag it, by dragging a treble hook or similar along the bottom, because it was likely immediately dragged a long ways away from where we were fishing. You can bet one of my first projects will be to make my own tether lines and I will insist that they always be used on my rods.