Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Two Resolutions State of Utah should make:
I know there are studies done out there. Not all can be trusted, many strict rules must be followed. I have a biology degree, and I have taken pictures of fish I caught and recaught. So I know the fish live but, that doesn’t qualify as a study. I’m all for keeping what I need to eat and conservation so that we can enjoy for years to come!
[signature]
[quote Springbuck]

Forgive my ignorance, but why is this an issue? Do they not allow it, even at the processing stations? Is it just to prove it isn't a cutt?
[/quote]

Yes they want to be able to tell a cutt from a rainbow and kokanee and also they want to be able to tell the length of the cutt so they can tell if it is in the slot.
[signature]
I honestly do not have a link. it was in an article my father in law showed me almost a decade ago in a sporting magazine. Which one I do not remember but since reading. I have tried to keep every trout I catch unless unlawful and when I catch what I want or don't I go home or stop fishing which sucks because sometimes a fishing trip only lasts 15 minutes on the water. The biggest reason I fish mostly close to work and home. I eat all of the fish I take. Most trout end up smoked. Some think this unethical but after reading that article I feel catching a fish only for fun just to die and not be utilized is unethical so I do my best to not be a hypocrite and utilize the resource of fish. I fish mostly the upper Weber, Rockport, and Echo. Since fishing these areas and harvesting everything I have seen a great improvement in size and catch rates. I don't know if it is because it is helping the fishery or I am just improving as an angler. I have practiced this method for the last 6 years. My Father in law and my in laws for longer. We all fish in the same areas on the upper Weber and mostly use artificial and flies. Enough ranting though do as you want. Just food for thought and your bellies.