Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Vexlar FLX 30
I noticed that Vexilar has come out with a new flasher.  They call it the FLX 30.  Not a lot of information out about it yet... too new.  Looks like it is made more for deeper water use.  I am not a deep water person, so I doubt it is something I am interested in. Added features over the FLX 28 include 3 power level settings, 3 zoom modes, 2 manuel depth ranges to 300 feet, 7 frequencies from 160 to 300, 140 interference rejection options (7 frequencies with 20 settings each), and a new lithium battery. I have a FL8 that I have been using for about 20 years or more and a FLX28 that does everything except clean and cook the fish.  Nice units.  They certainly have helped me increase my catch rate.    
Is the Vexilar any better than other brands?  Personal choice, but I can vouch for their reliability.  My family owns 5 units and all have been trouble free.  Two of them are + or - 20 years old.
I too own an FLX-28 vexilar that I absolutely love. The thing performs like a champ. The only upgrade that I might do is put a lithium-ion battery and replace the heavy lead-acid battery. I picked up one from Dakota lithium and tested it on the vex and the 7 amp hr battery lasted beyond 8 hours at room temp, so I guess maybe I could get 5 or 6 hours at colder temps. But it makes the unit so much lighter to carry. I have owned the Humminbird ice 35 and the Marcum LX-7 both.  The Humminbird did okay. The Marcum bit the dust after a year past the warranty. Somehow it got water inside the unit near the screen and it was toast. I should have originally went with the trusted name in electronics the first time. You live and you learn by making mistakes. My two cents....
Gabe