Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rigging Three Hooks, One line
Im very grateful to the members of this site who like to share techniques (you know who you are) I have learned a ton from here over the years so thank you. In the spirit of sharing ill add my little bit:

Ever since we could legally use 3 baited hooks/jigs/lures/flies Ive spent a lot of time thinking about, experimenting with, and untangling different rigs. Here is my favorite method. Equally good for ice, vertical jigging, casting, trolling. Forgive my primative illustration.

You need: Angled jig hooks without lead, heavy flouro leader ( I use 17lb.), barrel and snap swivel or clip.

[Image: 0125211417.jpg] finished ice rig on the left, size 14 and 10 jig hooks.  Size 6 jig hook on the right.

[Image: 0125211418.jpg] size 6 jig hook with snell knot

[Image: 0125211426.jpg] diagram, im no artist.

Questions? Feedback? Let me know your method for triple hooks. 

Thank you,
Eric

instagram image url

P.S. I like to use a barrel swivel between the main line and leader for ice fishing and a double uni knot for casting.  I like 18"-24" between hooks. You will find it can be tricky to deal with but has many advantages in the water.
I have fished tandem (2 jig) rigs for years...and have caught countless doubles on white bass, perch and even trout and one time on small walleye.  But I have never felt the need to fish 3 hooks/lures on one line.  Enough potential problems with just two.

The one biggie downer for fishing multiple hook rigs under the ice is the high probability of snagging the loose hook on the ice when bringing in a fish.  That either results in a breakoff or a fish pulling free.  But sometimes it takes an extra offering...of the same or different size/color...to attract the fish.
[Image: OLYMPUS-DIGITAL-CAMERA.jpg][Image: DOUBLE-TROUBLE.jpg][Image: DOUBLE-WALLIES.jpg]
I once caught 11 crappie on six consecutive casts at Willard using a double jig rig - a feat I will never likely repeat.