Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ice Tackle
I'm fairly new to ice fishing and really enjoy it. I was wondering if anyone would share what tackle they have success with. I'm not asking to share your secrets just general tackle used for ice fishing. I generally fish scofield, ottercreek, mammoth, and wanna try yuba this year. I appreciate any advice.
I just hope yuba freezes this year
Ice flies, twin tails, ratfinkees, small plastic jigs, tube jigs
Tip them with worms
Let us know how you do.
(12-11-2020, 08:08 PM)Bigtuna4 Wrote: I'm fairly new to ice fishing and really enjoy it. I was wondering if anyone would share what tackle they have success with. I'm not asking to share your secrets just general tackle used for ice fishing. I generally fish scofield, ottercreek, mammoth, and wanna try yuba this year. I appreciate any advice.

Many (myself included) started ice fishing with our longer poles and whatever jigs and lures we had in the tacklebox.  I drug my stuff along on a kid's sled for the first couple of years.  

After a couple of frustrating trips, I added a short ice fishing pole.  I have found I prefer a medium or medium heavy rod.  Not a fan of the "noodle" rods.  Many of my poles have come from WalMart, and I eventually replace the reels with Quantum Optix 10 reels or Abu Garcia Black Max 10 reels.  Initial auger option for most people is the eskimo 8" hand auger, but many serious fisherman upgrade to power augers.  I upgraded to a propane auger, then last year to a nils auger and Milwaukee hammer drill.