Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rod building
I’m looking into trying to learn to wrap rods. I’ve looked at get bit and a few other videos to self teach. Can anyone recommend any other videos or materials to study before I try my fist build. Also, any needed tools that you think may help the process. Thanks in advance!
(06-29-2024, 11:21 PM)Redrebel Wrote: I’m looking into trying to learn to wrap rods. I’ve looked at get bit and a few other videos to self teach. Can anyone recommend any other videos or materials to study before I try my fist build. Also, any needed tools that you think may help the process. Thanks in advance!

You should post your question on the Rod building forum. Chuck, the mod on that board has build a ton of rods and there are a lot of older post there about the ones he has built. I'm sure he could help you with your questions. Or you could send him an PM or email.
I'll be glad to help however I can.  I have been building and repairing rods for MANY years.  I have made everything from bamboo fly rods to heavy salt water rods to ice fishing rods. 

Making your first rod goes a lot better if you get assistance from an experienced rod builder.  Lots of little things to pay attention to that can make the process easier and the final result a lot better.  You would be welcome to visit my playroom and I can show you the basics...plus the tools and materials you will need.  Plus, I can help you make a shopping list of the stuff you need to build your dream stick.  

Don't know if you are planning to get into fancy rod wrapping patterns or not.  I used to do all the diamonds, chevrons, fish, etc. but now I just use plain wraps.  The pretty stuff gives you something to look at when the fish ain't bitin' but they don't make the fish bite any better.  However, Chuck...the moderator of the rod building board...is a master of beautiful artistic wraps and has a bunch of good info on those things.